Often we are asked how to appeal a surcharge or at-fault accident. The Massachusetts Department of Transportation’s website does a great job explaining this and many other ticket/surcharge related events. Below details an at-fault accident. Other related links include:
- At-Fault Accident
- Surcharge Notice
- Surcharge Appeal
- Surchargeable Traffic Law Violation
- Minor Traffic Law Violations
- Major Traffic Law Violations
- Massachusetts Uniform Citation
- Pay or Appeal a Civil Citation
- Respond to a Criminal Citation
How Do I Appeal an At-Fault Accident?
The Surcharge Appeal Form is printed on the back of the Surcharge Notice. To file an appeal, follow the instructions that are printed on the bottom front of your Surcharge Notice. Your request for an appeal must be filed and received within 30 days of the surcharge notice date shown on the front of your Surcharge Notice. The Board of Appeal (BOA) schedules your hearing and notifies you of the hearing date.
There is a $50 fee to file an at-fault accident appeal.
|Important! If a surcharge is applied to your auto insurance premium while your appeal is pending, you must pay the additional premium or your policy will be cancelled. If the appeal is decided in your favor, you will receive a refund or credit from your insurance company for any increased premium you paid as a result of the surcharge.|
For specific details about the at-fault accident appeal process, contact the Division of Insurance Board of Appeal at 617-521-7478 or visit the FAQs about Appealing a Surcharge for an At Fault Accident on the Consumer Affairs Website.